Internationalization at Home

Mittweida University of Applied Sciences offers numerous possibilities to study internationally and to be internationally committed. Students are provided with diverse offers on the international campus, e.g. to prepare interculturally for a semester abroad or to help international students as a tutor with their successful integration at the university.

International guest lecturers and an international focus in all study programmes ensure an up-to-date global approach.

Languages connect

Foreign language skills are a must in today’s world. Language skills are an essential tool especially for the future professional development. The IKKS – Language Institute of the university offers a wide selection of language courses which can also be certified.

Strangers become friends

Getting in touch with international students is not always easy within a busy study schedule. The diverse events organized by our Cosmo Club therefore offer a great opportunity for intercultural exchange e.g. during excursions, parties or as an individual tutor.

Tutor Programme

To make the first days in Mittweida as easy as possible Mittweida University offers international students the possibility to get an individual tutor. As a tutor students get the option to be internationally committed, gain intercultural competence and at the same time help international students with their first steps in Mittweida.

Tutors will e.g. help with the first orientation in Mittweida, with opening a bank account and with the registration process at the city hall.   

Get certified!

The Certificate of Intercultural Competence connects the diverse offers of Internationalization @ home giving students the possibility to add an international element to their CV.
It is addressed to both Mittweida home students as well as international students and combines three main components, which students can complete in several ways.

The certificate enables intercultural learning directly on campus, which means intercultural competence can be gained “at home” thanks to the diverse certificate offers, also giving students unable to go abroad the chance to acquire an important key competency for successful interaction in a globalized economy and society.

Internationalization at Home

Die Hochschule Mittweida bietet eine Vielzahl an Möglichkeiten international zu studieren und sich international zu engagieren. Auf dem internationalen Campus können Studierende auf ein vielfältiges Angebot zurückgreifen, um sich beispielsweise interkulturell auf ein Auslandssemester vorzubereiten oder internationalen Studenten als Tutor bei der Integration in die Mittweidaer Hochschullandschaft behilflich zu sein.

Internationale Gastdozenten und ein internationaler Fokus in allen Studienprogrammen garantieren eine zeitaktuelle globale Ausrichtung.

Sprachen verbinden

Fremdsprachenkenntnisse sind in der heutigen Welt ein Muss. Besonders für die beruflichen Entwicklungschancen sind Sprachkenntnisse heute ein unverzichtbares Werkzeug. Das IKKS - Spracheninstitut der Hochschule bietet ein vielfältiges Angebot an Sprachkursen, welche auch entsprechend zertifiziert werden können.

Fremde werden Freunde

Während des Studienalltags ist nicht immer Zeit, sich mit internationalen Studierenden auszutauschen. Möglichkeiten bieten sich daher auch bei diversen Veranstaltungen des Cosmo Clubs, wie bspw. Exkursionen oder länderspezifische Partys oder als individueller Tutor.

Das Tutorenprogramm

Um internationalen Studenten den Start in Mittweida zu erleichtern, bietet die Hochschule die Möglichkeit je nach Verfügbarkeit einen persönlichen Tutor zu bekommen. Studierende der Hochschule können sich so international engagieren, interkulturelle Kompetenz sammeln und gleichzeitig den neuen Studenten, bei ihren ersten Wegen in Mittweida zur Seite stehen.

So helfen Tutoren beispielsweise bei der ersten Orientierung vor Ort, bei der Eröffnung eines deutschen Bankkontos sowie bei der Registrierung im Rathaus.

Lassen Sie sich zertifizieren!

Das Zertifikat Interkulturelle Kompetenz bündelt die diversen Angebote zur Internationalization @ home und bietet Studierenden die Möglichkeit ihrem Lebenslauf ein internationales Element hinzuzufügen. Es richtet sich sowohl an Mittweidaer als auch an internationale Studierende und setzt sich aus drei Komponenten zusammen, welche Studierende auf diverse Weise absolvieren können.

Das Zertifikat ermöglicht somit interkulturelles Lernen auf dem Campus. Das heißt, Interkulturelle Kompetenz kann durch das Zertifikatsangebot „zu Hause“ erworben werden, was auch Studierenden, denen kein Auslandsaufenthalt möglich ist, die Chance bietet, eine wichtige Schlüsselkompetenz für das erfolgreiche Handeln in einer globalisierten Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft zu erwerben.