We use cookies to give you the best online experience and to improve our service. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

International Week 2021

Mittweida University of Applied Sciences is delighted to announce to host its third international week from 15th - 17th June 2021 on the topic “Strengthening European-African Partnership: Challenges and Opportunities”. The international week will be held virtually.

Africa is the second fastest-developing region of the world and over the next 30 years its population is projected to double to 20 percent of the world’s population. Africa’s transformation towards self-sufficiency requires to establish sustainable economic growth that keeps up with the rapid population expansion. While ten of the fastest growing economies in the world are in Africa, more as half of the countries of the continent belong to the most fragile countries in the world weakened by various challenges like political instability, poverty, child labour, lack of education and illiteracy, food insecurity, high burdens from infectious diseases, and violence.
Additionally, Africa and Europe have to tackle other common challenges such as climate change, digital transformation and sustainable development.

The aim of the International Week is to reflect on the current EU-Africa partnership, especially in the field of higher education, share results and best practices and discuss challenges and future directions. We welcome contributions covering all possible fields, e.g. governance, gender inequality, education, infrastructure (e.g. transport, energy, water, ICT), environmental sustainability and climate change, poverty reduction, peace and security, public health, intercultural dialogue, and migration.

Highlights of the International Week include:

  • Thematic sessions on the conference theme
  • Panel discussion on the conference theme
  • International university fair – Promote your university and programmes to Mittweida students and get in touch with our African partner institutions
  • Tailored delegate sessions at the schools and departments of your specialism to discuss cooperation opportunities
  • Tour of Mittweida campus and the surrounding area

If you are interested in attending the International week please fill in the following application form and send it to intmw@hs-mittweida.de by 30th April 2021.

We look forward to welcoming you to the international week 2021.

Wir verwenden Cookies, um unsere Website zu analysieren und zu verbessern. Mit der Nutzung unserer Website erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Mehr Informationen dazu finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

International Week 2021

Die Hochschule Mittweida - University of Applied Sciences kündigt hiermit die 3. Internationale Woche an, die vom 15.-17. Juni 2021 virtuell unter dem Thema "Stärkung der Europäisch-Afrikanischen Partnerschaft: Herausforderungen und Chancen" stehen wird.

Afrika ist die sich am zweitschnellsten entwickelnde Region der Welt und in den nächsten 30 Jahren wird sich seine Bevölkerung voraussichtlich auf 20 Prozent der Weltbevölkerung verdoppeln. Die Transformation Afrikas in Richtung Selbstversorgung erfordert die Etablierung eines nachhaltigen Wirtschaftswachstums, das mit dem schnellen Bevölkerungswachstum Schritt hält. Während sich zehn der am schnellsten wachsenden Volkswirtschaften der Welt in Afrika befinden, gehört mehr als die Hälfte der Länder des Kontinents zu den fragilsten Ländern der Welt, geschwächt durch verschiedenste Herausforderungen wie politische Instabilität, Armut, Kinderarbeit, mangelnde Bildung und Analphabetismus, Ernährungsunsicherheit, hohe Belastungen durch Infektionskrankheiten und Gewalt.
Zusätzlich stehen Afrika und Europa vor weiteren Herausforderungen, wie dem Klimawandel, der digitalen Transformation und der Förderung einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung.

Das Ziel der Internationalen Woche ist es, die gegenwärtigen Beziehungen zwischen Europa und Afrika, insbesondere im Bereich der Hochschulzusammenarbeit, zu beleuchten, Ergebnisse, Best Practices und Herausforderungen zu diskutieren sowie künftige Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten aufzuzeigen. Wir begrüßen die Einreichung von Beiträgen aus einer Vielzahl von Bereichen, z. B. Governance, Geschlechterungleichheit, Bildung, Infrastruktur (z. B. Verkehr, Energie, Wasser, IKT), ökologische Nachhaltigkeit und Klimawandel, Armutsbekämpfung, Frieden und Sicherheit, öffentliche Gesundheit, interkultureller Dialog und Migration. 

Inhaltlich sind geplant:

  • Vorträge und Workshops zu den genannten Themen
  • Podiumsdiskussion
  • Internationale Universitätsmesse – Stellen Sie Ihre Hochschule den Studierenden der Hochschule Mittweida vor bzw. Lernen Sie unsere afrikanischen Partnerhochschulen kennen
  • Themenspezifische Treffen in den Fakultäten nach Ihrer Wahl zur Feststellung von Kooperationsmöglichkeiten
  • Virtueller Rundgang an der Hochschule, durch Mittweida sowie in der Umgebung

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Teilnahme an der International Week.