Study in Mittweida - why?

University of Applied Sciences Mittweida (HSMW) is a state university, situated in Germany, Free State of Saxony. We offer undergraduate and post-graduate courses across a range of disciplines, which you can explore here on our website. About 6.000 students are doing here their studies. We welcome applications from students across the world. We offer individual support to our international students who come from about 50 countries.

HSMW offers international comparable study programmes, most of them modularized and accredited, leading to the degrees Bachelor, Master and the German Diploma (FH). Students benefit from a good quality of teaching and a close connection between teaching and research work. Our award system follows the Bologna process and is aligned with the European Credit Transfer System. This enables our students to transfer study results abroad. International students coming to HSMW can also benefit from this system.

The studies are characterized by a strong application-orientation. Internships are an obligatory part in all courses of studies. Furthermore we provide opportunities for students to become involved in projects and to receive an extraordinary amount of personal attention. Students have the freedom to create their own paths. They are supported in their objectives by faculty and staff who recognize students as colleagues and important contributors to the academic community.  Critical thinking, problem solving, creativity, and entrepreneurship are fostered. Many research institutes are established and cooperate with the university and partners from industry such as Siemens AG, Bosch, Thyssen Krupp, VW AG, Solar World Innovations GmbH and others. Our career service center advises you how to find and to apply for a job after the graduation.

Very modern class rooms and an outstanding technical equipment with many modern laboratories form comfortable learning surroundings for students and staff. You will live in dormitories in walking distance to the university. The university maintains sport facilities for lots of sport activities.

The university is situated in the city center. Mittweida is a lovely small town with a history of 800 years, located at a river, surrounded by forest.  You find supermarkets near the university.You can reach comfortable by train or bus the next big cities Chemnitz, Dresden and Leipzig.

Living in Mittweida is much cheaper as living in a big city.
And you have more time because you find anything in walking distance.

Studieren in Mittweida - warum?

Die Hochschule Mittweida (HSMW) ist eine staatliche Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften und befindet sich in Deutschland im Freistaat Sachsen. Wir bieten Studiengänge verschiedenster Fachrichtungen an und informieren darüber ausführlich in unseren Internetseiten. Über 6 000 Studenten sind bei uns eingeschrieben. Wir freuen uns insbesondere über Bewerbungen ausländischer Studierender. In Mittweida studieren internationale Studierende aus rund 50 Ländern. Ausländischen Studenten wird eine individuelle Beratung und Betreuung angeboten.

Unsere Studiengänge sind international vergleichbar, zu einem großen Teil akkreditiert und modularisiert. Sie führen zu den Abschlüssen Bachelor, Master und dem deutschen Diplom (FH). Studierende profitieren von der guten Qualität der Lehre und einer engen Verbindung von Lehre und Forschung. Das Studiensystem erfüllt die Kriterien des europäischen Bolognaprozesses  und beinhaltet die Vergabe von Credits nach dem European Credit Transfer System (ECTS). Das ermöglicht die Übertragung und Anerkennung von Studienleistungen an Hochschulen im Ausland. Auch ausländische Studierende  profitieren von diesem System.

Das Studium ist durch einen starken Praxisbezug gekennzeichnet. Praktika außerhalb der Hochschule sind ein obligatorischer Bestandteil des Studiums. Wir bieten den Studierenden außerdem Möglichkeiten zur Teilnahme an studienbegleitenden Projekten mit einer zusätzlichen persönlichen Betreuung und Förderung. Studierende können zudem ihr Studienprogramm teilweise über Projekte und Wahlpflichtmodule mitgestalten. Sie werden dabei in der Fakultät unterstützt. Das Lehrpersonal betrachtet Studierende als zukünftige Kollegen, die einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Wissenschaftsentwicklung leisten können. Kritisches Denken,  kreatives Problemlösen und unternehmerisches Handeln werden gefördert. Viele Forschungseinrichtungen agieren im Umfeld der Hochschule mit Partnern aus der Industrie wie der Siemens AG, Bosch, Thyssen Krupp, der VW AG, der Solar World Innovations GmbH und anderen. Unser Career Service Center berät Studierende, wie man sich nach dem Studienabschluss einen Job sucht und sich bewirbt.

Modern gestaltete Unterrichtsräume und eine hervorragende technische Ausstattung in vielen Labors schaffen komfortable Studienbedingungen. Es gibt Wohnheimplätze in unmittelbarer Nähe der Hochschule. Die Hochschule unterhält mehrere Sporteinrichtungen und bietet ein sehr breites Sportangebot.

Die Hochschule befindet sich im Stadtzentrum. Mittweida ist eine liebenswerte kleine Stadt mit einer 800jährigen Geschichte. Sie liegt an einem Fluss und ist von Wald umgeben. Nahe der Hochschule findet man Supermärkte. Per Bahn oder Bus sind die nahegelegenen Großstädte Chemnitz, Dresden und Leipzig bequem zu erreichen.

In Mittweida zu studieren ist um vieles kostengünstiger als in einer Großstadt.
Man hat mehr Zeit, da man alles gut zu Fuß erreichen kann.